Description

Established in 1982, the Canadian Association of Poison Control Centres provides a centralized forum for communication, information & idea exchange among Canadian Poison Centres. While its members are primarily professionals working in Poison Control Centres, other members have included pharmacists, pharmaceutical companies, forensic toxicologists, public health staff and emergency physicians.

History of Poison Control in Canada

In 1958, Health and Welfare Canada (now Health Canada), established the Poison Control Program, within the Product-Related Diseases Division. Product formulation cards (and later microfiche) served as the database for information requests regarding exposures. These cards were distributed to all active treatment hospitals throughout Canada. Manufacturers would voluntarily submit this information to Health and Welfare Canada. Missing information would be solicited by Health and Welfare Canada staff when an exposure occurred to a product about which no information was available. In exchange for these information cards, Centres kept statistics and reported these back to the Program. Annual reports were produced from the data until 1988 when the federal program folded.

Although the database and statistical reports came from the Federal Poison Control Program, funding for the Centres was provincial and varied from province to province. In the ‘60s and ‘70s, most Centres were in the Emergency Departments of active treatment hospitals. The Poison Telephone was usually answered by the ER nurse. In the ‘80s, most of these local centres were replaced by regional or provincial centres with dedicated, trained staff. Physicians with specific training in Toxicology were hired to give medical direction and continuing education. As many of the exposures were pediatric, four of the dedicated centres were located within pediatric hospitals. Although, initially, calls to the Poison Information Centres were from the public, over the years, increasingly, health care providers have come to rely on the toxicological expertise of the staff at Poison Centres to assist with the management of poisoned patients who present to Health Care facilities. Pediatric and adult calls are approximately equal in number.

PROVINCIAL CENTRES

In 1968, the Ottawa Civic Hospital Poison Information Centre was opened. During the day, a dedicated Registered Nurse answered calls from the public; at night, the intern staffing the Emergency Department answered these calls. Similarly, a  dedicated Registered Nurse answered calls in the Emergency Department at the Hospital for Sick Children starting in 1977. Both Centres were staffed 24/7 with full time Medical Directors from 1981 forward. In 2005, the Regional Centre at the Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario was closed. The Centre at the Hospital for Sick Children became the Ontario Poison Centre. In 2007 the Centre entered a partnership with Montfort Hospital and opened a satellite site in Ottawa, thereby ensuring the sustainability of providing services in both official languages.

The BC Drug and Poison Information Centre (DPIC) began as a research project in the mid-1960s at the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of British Columbia (UBC). The project involved development and distribution of Poison Information Cards designed to assist practitioners in the diagnosis and treatment of poisoning incidents. DPIC was formally established at Vancouver’s St. Paul’s Hospital in 1975 through the cooperative efforts of the Hospital Programs Branch of the BC Ministry of Health and UBC. The original mandate of the Centre called for the development of centralized services to assist health professionals throughout BC in providing optimal levels of drug therapy and poison management. Public access to poison control began in 1981 for residents of the Vancouver area, further expanding to include the Victoria region in 1985. The following year, nurses joined the existing staff of pharmacists and consulting physicians, and the entire province was opened to toll-free poison information services. The Centre’s history of providing supplemental toxicology information in written form has continued with publication of the Poison Management Manual, which replaced the original Poison Information Cards in 1981. In addition to its UBC association, since 2002 DPIC has been affiliated with the BC Centre for Disease Control which is an agency of the Provincial Health Services Authority.

In 1986, three remaining regional poison centres in Quebec were amalgamated as one provincial centre at le Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval in Québec City. Specialist nurses are located in the Centre in Quebec. Toxicologists throughout the province remained on staff. In 2003, the Centre was moved and came under the jurisdiction of the CLSC-CHSLD Haute-Ville-Des-Rivières.

Alberta established the toll-free provincial Poison and Drug and Information Service (P.A.D.I.S.) in 1986 at the Calgary Foothills Hospital. The Centre was established to replace five regional centres and to link the provision of poison information services with that of drug information services already established and operating out of the Pharmacy Department at the Foothills. Both registered nurses and pharmacists now answer these information lines.

In 1993, a toll-free poison information number for southern Saskatchewan was established in Regina and another in Saskatoon for northern Saskatchewan, but with no dedicated staffing. In 2001, Saskatchewan contracted with the Alberta Poison Centre to provide comprehensive poison service to Saskatchewan through a dedicated toll-free number.

Also in 1993, the IWK Regional Poison Centre was established at the IWK Hospital in Halifax, Nova Scotia replacing the red phones in the pediatric emergency department. Specialist trained nurses and pharmacists answer the poison information lines. A physician toxicologist joined the Centre in 2005 and a complement of Emergency Physicians offer medical back-up.

Each of these Centres, strives to follow the criteria as set by the American Association of Poison Control Centers (AAPCC) for certification. The registered nurses and pharmacists answering the information lines in each of these Canadian Centres are eligible for certification as a Specialist in Poison Information. Eligibility for certification includes at least two years of full time employment at a Poison Centre, handling of two thousand human exposure calls and challenging a written examination as set by the AAPCC.

The Children’s Hospital in Manitoba has a dedicated telephone information line in the Emergency Department answered by physicians. The phone number is local only. No toll-free line is available for the Province. In Newfoundland, a registered nurse answers a dedicated province wide information line from 0800-2400. In New Brunswick, poison calls from the public are answered by a health information line registered nurse. These nurses have no specific training in toxicology. No information line is available for health care providers. None of the Territories have dedicated poison centres although poison calls are handled either by 911 operators or by personnel in the Emergency Departments in Whitehorse, Yellowknife and Iqualuit. Specific expertise and consultation may be sought as necessary from other provincial poison centres.

CANADIAN ASSOCIATION OF POISON CONTROL CENTRES

In order to provide some cohesiveness and sense of "system" to a fragmented group of Poison Centres dispersed across the country, a voluntary association, the Canadian Association of Poison Control Centres (CAPCC) was formed at a meeting of Medical Directors in Toronto in 1982.

The CAPCC provides a centralized forum for communication, information & idea exchange among Canadian Poison Centres. While its members are primarily professionals working in Poison Control Centres, other members have included pharmacists, pharmaceutical companies, forensic toxicologists, public health staff and emergency physicians.

PRODUCT FORMULATIONS DATABASE

The Federal Government Product database was maintained and distributed until 1988. At that time, the CAPCC and the Canadian Paediatric Society negotiated with Health & Welfare to take over responsibility for the database. The CPS agreed to use its permanent secretariat address for the receipt of Canadian product formulations. The CAPCC decided that the needs of its members would be best served by incorporating the Canadian data into the existing POISINDEX database that was presently being used by all members. Because of cross border trade, having access to American data was important. Subsequently, the Canadian federal data files were downloaded into the Poisindex System. These records are updated and new records are solicited through mailouts to lists of manufacturers. The submissions are funneled through the Ottawa Poison Centre under the auspices of the Canadian Paediatric Society, to Poisindex. Some Canadian companies, primarily industrial, only submit their information to the Centre for Occupational Health (Hamilton). Thus their CCINFO database, which is unedited MSDS', is also essential. Both databases are CD-ROM and Web based.

POISONING STATISTICS

As poison centres are funded provincially, each province has different reporting requirements and formats. Currently, no federal government department keeps of reports national poisoning statistics, except for those resulting in death. An initiative by Health Canada to establish a Canadian poison database and statistics was piloted in 2002 but funding was cancelled prior to its national implementation.

The CAPCC remains committed to working towards the development of national statistics.

Description

Établi en 1982, l'Association canadienne des centres antipoison offre un forum centralisé pour communication, d'information et d'échange d'idées parmi les centres antipoison canadiens. Bien que ses membres sont principalement des professionnels qui travaillent dans les centres antipoison, d'autres membres ont inclus des pharmaciens, des compagnies pharmaceutiques, des toxicologues judiciaires, le personnel de la santé publique et des médecins d'urgence.

Histoire de la antipoison au Canada

En 1958, Santé et Bien-être Canada (maintenant Santé Canada), a établi le programme de contrôle de poison, au sein de la Division des maladies liés aux produits. Les cartes de formulation du produit (et plus tard microfiche) ont servi de base pour les demandes d'information sur l'exposition. Ces cartes ont été distribuées à tous les hôpitaux de soins actifs à travers le Canada. Les fabricants auraient volontairement soumettre cette information à Santé et Bien-être Canada. Informations manquantes serait sollicité par Santé et Bien-être social Canada lorsqu'une exposition a eu lieu à un produit sur ​​lequel aucune information n'était disponible. En échange de ces fiches d'information, les centres gardés statistiques et rapportés tous ces éléments sur le programme. Les rapports annuels ont été produites à partir des données jusqu'en 1988, lorsque le programme fédéral plié.

Bien que la base de données et rapports statistiques proviennent du programme fédéral de contrôle de poison, le financement des centres était provincial et varié d'une province à province. Dans les années 60 et 70, la plupart des centres ont été dans les services d'urgence des hôpitaux de soins actifs. The Poison téléphone a été généralement répondu par l'infirmière ER. Dans les années 80, la plupart de ces centres locaux ont été remplacés par des centres régionaux ou provinciaux avec un personnel spécialement formé. Les médecins ayant reçu une formation spécifique en toxicologie ont été embauchés pour donner une orientation médicale et la formation continue. Comme la plupart des expositions sont pédiatrique, quatre des centres dédiés étaient situés dans des hôpitaux pédiatriques. Même si, initialement, les appels vers les centres d'information de poison ont été par le public, au fil des ans, de plus en plus, les fournisseurs de soins de santé ont appris à compter sur l'expertise toxicologique du personnel dans les centres antipoison pour aider à la gestion des patients intoxiqués qui présentent pour la santé établissements de soins. Appels pédiatriques et adultes sont approximativement égales en nombre.

CENTRES PROVINCIAUX

En 1968, le centre anti-poison Hôpital Civic d'Ottawa a été ouverte. Pendant la journée, une infirmière dédiée répond appels du public; la nuit, le stagiaire doter le service d'urgence a répondu à ces appels. De même, une infirmière dédiée répond appels dans le service des urgences de l'Hôpital pour enfants à partir de 1977. Les deux centres ont été dotés 24/7 avec temps plein directeurs médicaux de 1981 en avant. En 2005, le Centre régional de l'Hôpital pour enfants de l'Est de l'Ontario a été fermé. Le Centre de l'Hôpital pour enfants malades est devenu le Centre Anti-Poison de l'Ontario. En 2007, le Centre a conclu un partenariat avec l'Hôpital Montfort et a ouvert un site satellite à Ottawa, assurant ainsi la pérennité de la fourniture de services dans les deux langues officielles.

Le Centre d'information antipoison (DPIC) drogues et la Colombie-Britannique a commencé comme un projet de recherche dans le milieu des années 1960 à la faculté des sciences pharmaceutiques de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique (UBC). Le projet a impliqué le développement et la distribution des cartes d'information de poison conçus pour aider les praticiens dans le diagnostic et le traitement des cas d'intoxication. DPIC a été officiellement créé à l'hôpital St. Paul de Vancouver en 1975 grâce aux efforts de coopération de la Direction des programmes de l'hôpital du ministère de la Santé et UBC BC. Le mandat original du Centre a appelé à l'élaboration de services centralisés pour aider les professionnels de santé à travers la Colombie-Britannique en offrant des niveaux optimaux de la pharmacothérapie et la gestion de poison. Accès du public aux anti-poison a commencé en 1981 pour les résidents de la région de Vancouver, élargissant pour inclure la région de Victoria en 1985. L'année suivante, les infirmières rejoint le personnel actuel de pharmaciens et de médecins-conseils, et l'ensemble de la province a été ouvert aux services d'information poison sans frais. L'histoire de fournir l'information supplémentaire sur la toxicologie sous forme écrite, le Centre a continué avec la publication du Manuel de gestion de Poison, qui a remplacé les cartes originales de l'information de poison en 1981. En plus de son association UBC, depuis 2002 DPIC a été affilié avec le BC Centre for Disease Control qui est un organisme de l'Autorité provinciale des services de santé.

En 1986, trois centres anti-poison régional considéré restant en Québec ont été amalgamées comme l'un centre provincial à l'hôtel Le Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval dans la ville de Québec. Infirmières de la Specialist sont situés dans le Centre au Québec. Les toxicologues tout au long de le province sont restés sur le personnel. En 2003, le Centre a été déplacé et est venu en vertu la compétence de la CLSC-CHSLD Haute-Ville-Des-Rivières.

Alberta a créé le poison provincial sans frais et drogues et d'information (PADIS) en 1986 à l'Hôpital Foothills de Calgary. Le Centre a été créé pour remplacer cinq centres régionaux et de lier la fourniture de services d'information sur les poisons avec celle des services de renseignements sur les médicaments déjà établis et opérant à partir du département de pharmacie au pied. Les infirmières et les pharmaciens enregistrés réponse maintenant ces lignes d'information.

En 1993, un certain nombre d'informations poison sans frais pour le sud de la Saskatchewan a été établi à Regina et à Saskatoon autre pour le nord de la Saskatchewan, mais sans personnel dédié. En 2001, la Saskatchewan a contracté avec le Centre Anti-Poison de l'Alberta pour fournir un service de poison globale de la Saskatchewan grâce à un numéro sans frais dédié.

Toujours en 1993, le Centre régional antipoison IWK a été créé à l'Hôpital IWK à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse remplacer les téléphones rouges dans le département d'urgence pédiatrique. Spécialiste des infirmières et des pharmaciens formés à répondre aux lignes d'information antipoison. Un toxicologue médecin rejoint le Centre en 2005 et un complément des médecins d'urgence offre médicale de secours.

Chacun de ces centres, s'efforce de suivre les critères définis par l'Association américaine des centres antipoison (AAPCC) pour la certification. Les infirmières et les pharmaciens enregistrés répondant aux lignes d'information dans chacun de ces centres canadiens sont admissibles à la certification à titre de spécialiste en information sur les poisons. Admissibilité à la certification comporte au moins deux années d'emploi à temps plein dans un centre anti-poison, la manipulation de deux mille appels d'exposition de l'homme et de contester un examen écrit fixée par le AAPCC.

Le Centre hospitalier pour enfants au Manitoba dispose d'une ligne d'information téléphonique dédiée à l'urgence répondu par des médecins. Le numéro de téléphone est local seulement. Aucune ligne téléphonique sans frais est disponible pour la province. À Terre-Neuve, une infirmière répond à une province vaste ligne d'information dédiée 0800-2400. Au Nouveau-Brunswick, les appels poison du public sont traitées par une information santé en ligne infirmière. Ces infirmières n'ont pas de formation spécifique en toxicologie. Aucune ligne d'information est disponible pour les fournisseurs de soins de santé. Aucun des territoires ont consacré centres antipoison Bien que les appels de poison sont gérées soit par 911 opérateurs ou par le personnel dans les services d'urgence à Whitehorse, Yellowknife et Iqaluit. Expertise et de consultation spécifiques peuvent être demandés le cas échéant par d'autres centres antipoison provinciaux.

ASSOCIATION CANADIENNE DES CENTRES ANTI-POISONS

Afin d'assurer une certaine cohésion et le sens de "système" à un groupe fragmenté des centres antipoison dispersés à travers le pays, une association bénévole, l'Association canadienne des centres antipoison (ACCAP) a été formé lors d'une réunion des directeurs médicaux à Toronto en 1982.

L'ACCAP fournit un forum centralisé de communication, d'information et d'échange d'idées entre les centres antipoison canadiens. Bien que ses membres sont principalement des professionnels qui travaillent dans les centres antipoison, d'autres membres ont inclus des pharmaciens, des compagnies pharmaceutiques, des toxicologues judiciaires, le personnel de la santé publique et des médecins d'urgence.

PRODUITS FORMULES DATABASE

La base de données des produits de gouvernement fédéral a géré et distribué jusqu'en 1988. A cette époque, l'ACCAP et la Société canadienne de pédiatrie ont négocié avec Santé & Bien-être de prendre en charge la responsabilité de la base de données. Les CPS ont convenu d'utiliser son adresse secrétariat permanent pour la réception des formulations de produits canadiens. L'ACCAP a décidé que les besoins de ses membres seraient mieux servis en intégrant les données canadiennes dans la base de POISINDEX existant qui a été utilisée actuellement par tous les membres. En raison de commerce transfrontalier, avoir accès à des données américaines était important. Par la suite, les fichiers de données fédérales canadiennes ont été téléchargées dans le système de POISINDEX. Ces documents sont mis à jour et de nouveaux records sont sollicités par le biais d'envois postaux à des listes de fabricants. Les soumissions sont canalisés à travers le Centre Anti-Poison Ottawa, sous les auspices de la Société canadienne de pédiatrie, à POISINDEX. Certaines entreprises canadiennes, principalement industrielles, ne soumettent leurs informations au Centre d'hygiène (Hamilton). Ainsi leur base de données CCINFO, ce qui est inédit FDS', est également essentielle. Les deux bases de données sont les CD-ROM et Web basé.

STATISTIQUES D'INTOXICATION

Comme les centres antipoison sont financées par la province, chaque province a ses propres exigences en matière de rapports et de formats. Actuellement, aucun ministère du gouvernement fédéral maintient des rapports statistiques nationales d'empoisonnement, à l'exception de ceux ayant entraîné la mort. Une initiative de Santé Canada d'établir une base de données et de statistiques de poison canadien a été mis à l'essai en 2002 mais le financement a été annulé avant sa mise en œuvre nationale.

L'ACCAP reste déterminée à œuvrer pour le développement des statistiques nationales.